Sore

 Yesterday was a fairly productive and fun day.  My wife left on errands for a few hours, so I decided to spend the day raking the front yard.  I hitched my dog to a tie in the front yard and she sat and watched while I worked. 

About halfway throught, a guy I know came walking down the street and asked if I wanted to play football.  I said sure- raking leaves can wait- and followed him down to a vacant field on the edge of the neighborhood.

Six guys in total showed up, counting myself.  We played three on three two-hand touch football for about an hour and a half.  I am proud to report that I scored three touchdowns and never dropped a pass that I should have caught.  Unfortunately, we lost in sudden death- a situation caused by the fact that one of the guys had to go to work.

It was a beautiful day yesterday.  The high was in the low 70s and there was a slight breeze.  Perfect weather to both rake leaves and play football.

I’ve still got some piles of leaves to bag when I get home from work, and I’m incredibly sore from the effort, but it was worth it.  That particular yesterday will never come again, and I feel that I lived it well.

Leave a Reply

