Looking Forward

This is admittedly a short post- today was a long day, and I’m looking forward to the rest of the weekend.

In a few minutes I’ll head to bed and sleep for as long as I like.  Although I can’t technically enjoy sleeping, I can anticipate the event and derive joy from that.

All too often we turn our energy to dreading the future, but never focus on the good things that are heading our way.  Anticipation is very much a part of happiness.  Often the anticipation is more exciting than the actual event- without looking forward to something, we lose a chance to turn something generally mundane into an opportunity to increase our happiness.  Visualizing the event before it occurs gives us an opportunity to experience it twice, which should effectively double the happiness we can expect to gain from most everyday situations.

That’s all for know- I have to go walk my dog one last time before heading to bed.  However, my thoughts will be focused on the warm bed and soft pillow waiting for me.

Leave a Reply

